I just realized…

i am spinning: nothing
i am reading: the same book.
i am feeling: tired.

No two sentences in that last blog made any sense…there was no coherence in the blog as a whole.
I suppose I was just tired.

I got to sit at home for about an hour and do my laundry and then it was back to work.
I did take time last night–my only day off–to watch movies and sit with my sister (she’s 16).

I thought back to the blog…I don’t usually revisit them after I post and kind of laughed to myself. My dad, who is a producer, and I were standing out by his truck friday night. He had just come off tour and we were talking a little bit while I was on my break. The security guard where I work came up to talk to us and he said we were talking for 15 minutes and nothing we said made any lick of sense at all. I kind of laughed. I guess we were both exhausted.

I think there’s a language that production workers speak that no one else can understand…I think we just move along. we trudge forward.

Tonight I have Family Force Five…they’re interesting. I didn’t know anything about them before I came in to work today…now I know they’re a band and they’re powerful loud. The production crew isn’t really excited about tonight but it’s hard to trudge back in to work after time off…in any industry.

So I’m sitting here in the auditorium blogging, I have a blue shirt on with a porta potty on it that says “its go time,” the bands stage manager calls me the porta lady, it’s cold enough to hang meat in the auditorium, and my worship band isn’t coming in until 4:45. Welcome to Sunday.

This is what this week looks like.
today: the object is to survive the concert and then set up the main session.
tomorrow: the concert is a comedian. shouldn’t be too hard.
wednesday: a drama group.
thursday: the last full day of the SITS conference.
friday: half day. we do our work and go home.
saturday: 5:00 AM I jump in a van and ride to Kansas City for the North American Christian Convention where I am not only production manager but media director. I don’t quite understand how those jobs can be combined in to one but oh well.

Next week is my vacation week and I will be spending all but saturday and sunday of it in Kansas City. Sounds good to me.

I’m going to work now.

Leave a Reply

