My summer.

I walked in to set up week with a feeling of dread…I didn’t think I’d make it through this conference again. After last year I felt like I shouldn’t be here or doing this job. The blog I wrote in May came to mind…when I said “the summer program needs someone who will love it more than I can,” (or something like that). I limped through the first two days of set-up thinking I might make it with enough positive thinking and time away from work.

By kickoff I sat backstage and cried because I was so happy to be back on my show. There’s no substitute, especially after slumming for eight months on someone else’s show…or multiple shows.

Since that day, four weeks ago I’ve had a great time and its been a fantastic experience. I’ve worked with great bands, great speakers, and made great contacts for when I go off in to the real world (in a few months).

I’ve realized there is almost no one who loves this program as much as I do…my only worry is about who I’m going to leave the show with…This is my last year, I really need to move on…but that’s the part that’s upsetting right now. I probably shouldn’t talk about it too much…it tends to make me weepy.

I can just say I’ve never been so happy to be wrong in my life.

Leave a Reply

