The story of how I got engaged…

I didn’t want to write “my engagement story” so I’m writing the story of how I got engaged.

TODAY!

So I was having a crappy day. I got up this morning and didn’t shower (eew) and was irritated because I haven’t slept well since Brian and I got back from Michigan. I was mad because its was 40 degrees outside and ITS APRIL! Get with the program Kentucky. Brian and I were supposed to go take pictures today (I had no idea why) and I was mad that it was cold. So I persuaded him to postpone the picture taking until Friday.

So I get out of class today after what seemed like a million years and Brian met me in front of our main building. I get in the car and he’s wearing khakis and a polo shirt (and I didn’t figure out something was different) He said he was taking me out to lunch and I was okay with that. We then start driving aimlessly (which is a habit of ours) and eventually ended up out at the spot where we had our first date (I then remembered I had left my camera at home) I was joking about how when we went on our first date I came home and said I’d never go on a date with him again and we both laughed. We then laughed about how a group of geese are a gaggle (really…we did this) He then got out of the car and said he’d heard something rattling around in the trunk.

To which I thought…great, whats wrong with your car now…(his car sometimes makes Wookie noises) I got out and stretched and contemplated chasing the geese when he came back with a HUGE bouquet of daisies with one single red rose (ps. I LOVE DAISIES!) I had no clue he was going to ask me to marry him.

here’s a picture of the monstrosity that was the flowers. They’re in a vase on my desk.
I, of course freaked out about the flowers…and still had no clue he was going to ask me to marry him…until he pulled out a ring box from his pocket and got down on one knee and asked me to marry him.

The funny thing about this is yesterday morning he pulled a muscle in his back playing dodgeball and told me he had been praying to God to just be able to get down on one knee today. What is also funny is last night I was threatening to kill him…so he asked me and I said yes.

Actually I squeaked yes. And then I cried and laughed for about twenty minutes. And then I hugged him and told him I loved him and he made me happy.
which he does.
He’s the best.
BUT HE’S MINE!!
Yay!!

I’m going to make him take some pictures with me this afternoon after I’ve showered and fixed my hair and look decent.
And the ring??? Oh, nice of you to ask.
I can’t take a picture of it to save my life: but here’s the picture from the Kay website:

Thats the ring and its matching band..but the two won’t be re-united for a while yet. We’ll see how long as soon as Brian and I sit down and talk about it.

I’m so in love…and so happy.
Now on to take my bff Miranda home and go do other things than get engaged since I’ve done that already today.

Liz

One response to “The story of how I got engaged…

  1. Oh, Lizzles! This is so excellent! I actually cried! But this could be because of womanly hormones. I am so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

