I realized today what a remarkable person my father, Mr. Rice is.

An event happened on campus…actually, over the course of a year an event was happening that caused the resignation of one of our professors–a professor who was really loved by the student body. In chapel today our president here at Bible College, Agent K, got up and read the professor’s letter of resignation and told us that we needed to learn from this experience. Out of respect to his children…whom I have been friends with for the six years I’ve known this professor (my dad works at Bible College btw for those who might not know) and to his wife who is the sweetest woman in the entire world I won’t say what he did…but it was despicable.

It was despicable not for the act so much as it was for the people it hurt.
There were at least thirty if not more (the man estimates fifty) students that hung around after chapel today in a quiet, dark room to cry and grieve for the loss of someone they trusted and loved.

I stayed in there and thought I was all right until I heard someone sobbing. My emotions started to break through the wall I built and I started crying. I then watched as the campus counselor, the dean of students, and several professors walked around and started to console the students who stayed behind. I heard sobbing, and saw people just sitting with their heads in their hands.

My dad got up and started making the rounds and hugging people. I saw him hug people and let them cry on him like he’s done for my sister and myself. He was picking up the pieces this person had left…he was caring for people that weren’t his music business majors (and some that were) and caring for people who just needed to be loved. He consoled his boss, and his boss’s wife, and stood like a rock while people cried and talked to him.

I don’t know when he’s going to break down…or if he will…but he’s helping people who are broken, and that’s what is needed right now. After chapel the man and I were on our way out and Dad caught me and hugged me and over my shoulder said thanked the man for doing his job (consoling me) so he could do his job (consoling other people). He then said it would be the man’s job soon…and that made me smile.

I also realized mid-way through my frantic search for a dress for Junior Senior Banquet that I have the greatest man in the world. The man pulled dresses off the rack and told me how great they would look on me and sat in the “husband chair” outside the fitting room and told me that I looked great in everything…but a blue floral print dress was THE dress for Junior/Senior. He’s the greatest. I’m so lucky to have him.

I can’t wait for the rest of my life with him.

However, In order to accomplish the rest of my life I need to stop weeping intermittently and get some work done…

Leave a Reply

