I applied for my dream job the other day.

Well, one of my dream jobs. The one that isn’t “Rock Star” or “Professional Holder Down of Furniture”

(and the second one doesn’t even make sense)

I applied to be a Court Designated Worker.
A Court Designated Worker, or CDW is a juvenile intake worker that reviews the cases of every juvenile offender brought in to their county (and the counties that I applied to work for are Clark and Madison counties which are close enough to spit at one of the areas the man and I are interested in relocating to) and after reviewing these cases decides whether or not they are eligible for a “diversion” agreement, which is a contract to do x number of things rather than go to jail. Not all juvenile offenders are eligible for diversions, but it is up to the CDW (along with a judge in some cases) to determine which ones are eligible and facilitate the diversions of those who are eligible.

Doesn’t that sound fun?

This job isn’t something I thought I’d be interested in while I was in college, but since graduating and giving some serious thought to what exactly I want to do with my life this job seems perfect.

I applied for one of my dream jobs…but what am I going to do if i get it?

(which is wild speculation considering I haven’t even gotten an interview yet). However, I have a few cheerleaders in the kentucky court system who have told me they’re making phone calls on my behalf and telling people they should hire me. I really do have some great friends.

If I got this job it would mean I’d have to relocate to either of the counties I plan to serve (or a county that is a hop skip and jump away and would probably be a better place for me to live…anyway) It would also mean the man and I would be separated except on visits until October when his job is done. Possibly he would move down with me, or at least in the same area but honestly we haven’t made it that far. I’d also have to move away from my adopted hometown (big heartbreak there, let me tell you) And I’d move to a place where I barely know anyone.

And I really have never been more excited for the possibility of this. I’m really hoping I get this job so I can embark on a new and exciting phase of life and maybe start “doing real life” like my blog says.

Until next time

One response to “I applied for my dream job the other day.

  1. You'll know me!!! I live in Madison county!! Well, you know, when I'm not in Breathitt.

Leave a Reply

