Eat Pray Love, I devoured it, I prayed it would never end…and I LOVED IT!

So I’m a year behind the times and just now read Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love. I finished the book last night before I went to sleep and all I can say is Wow.

This book is what books should be like.

Gilbert starts the book out in New York, having just experienced a divorce and a fling with a man whom I’m sure was just pleased to be included in the book. She’s on a search for spiritual meaning in her life following this divorce and a personal experience with God. This journey will take her to Italy, where she studies the Italian language, pasta, and art, to an ashram in India where she learns to live in silence and meditation, and finally to Bali where she studies with a spiritual teacher whom most of the village consider to have lost his mind years ago.

This book is a beautifully worded spiritual and philosophical masterpiece. Gilbert is an excellent storyteller who shares both her triumphs and her gaffes with the reader. By the end of the text I felt like I was right there with her in India, sitting in deep meditation in the ashram and running through the ashram gardens at night just because she was in India.

I can’t share too much about the book because I’m still in awe over it. Its a wonderful piece of non-fiction (I’m normally not a fan) and I’m so happy I picked it up. If you want your life to be not changed, but filled with inspiration because of a text…run to your nearest bookstore (or ask for my copy) and get your hands on Eat, Pray, Love.

Leave a Reply

