This is…

my girl crush.

I’d really like for her to just kick my rear.

I know its not just me, I know that millions (well probably thousands of Americans) feel the same way. My husband has a non girl crush on her and there are people out there who are devoted to her dvd’s, her website, her books…she’s like Richard Simmons…except not all silly and bouncy.

I’ve been doing the 30 day shred..and I’ve actually done it more than once or twice this time. I haven’t done it every day like I planned but I’ve only skipped two workouts so far.

Last night I had planned to go to Zumba with my buddy Jenn and then do the Shred this morning so I could keep up with the workout schedule I made for myself. I have never made a workout schedule other than “I have to run every day or I’m going to explode” and I have certainly never stuck to a workout schedule…

So we didn’t end up going to Zumba last night so I decided to celebrate with chicken strips and fries (I hate you Zaxby’s…no, that’s a lie. I love you so much but you’re so bad for me…like all of my high school boyfriends).

Yeah, terrible decision.

I was beating myself up about it last night, and I was beating myself up about it this morning until I fired up the Shred tonight.

and I thought to myself. Wait? I’m beating myself up BECAUSE I MISSED A WORKOUT

….

I’m not beating myself up because I ate out a lot this weekend (BUT I WENT TO THE OLIVE GARDEN AND I ATE SALMON! SALMON!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and that’s not salmon pasta with alfredo sauce THAT IS GRILLED FISH!!!)

I’m not beating myself up because of the size of my pants

I’m beating myself up because I set a goal and I was in danger of giving up.

When I think back on my life for the past three years I have given up on so much.

I gave up on my career as a stagehand
I gave up on wanting to go to law school because I convinced myself I didn’t want to do it.
I gave up on weight watchers because Taco Bell tasted too good

I could go on and on.

but I’m not giving up anymore.

So I came home and did the Shred, and I didn’t eat everything in the house…and tomorrow morning I’m going to get up and do the Shred again…I made this workout schedule for myself and I’m going to keep it.

and my hope is that by this summer I’ll look in the mirror and the person I’ve been will be gone.

Until next time,

Liz

One response to “This is…

  1. Hey. I just found your blog while searching for other shredheads on wordpress. I’ve just started the Shred myself, and I’m on Day 5. Keep up the great work! It’s hard to follow through, but I know it’s going to feel wonderful when we reach Day 30. Good luck! And Keep it up! I’m sure you’ll reach the goal!

Leave a Reply

