Last night…

Last night I tweeted this:

@LizDoesRealLife Liz
I’m infuriated and I’m about ten seconds away from telling the Internet all about it.

I did that for two reasons.

1. I was kind of making fun of people who over share and whine to the internet when something goes wrong in their lives.

2. I was INFURIATED.

Brian and I are conducting an experiment at the moment to see if we can manage our daily schedules with one car. We know we can, we’re just trying to prove to ourselves how easy it will be to sell my car and put the money in savings. Yesterday I got up with him and took him to work (we left at 6:30. Vomit) and I went on to work myself. I picked him up at 6:00 when he got off work and then we went out to the gym he’s going to. He went to class and I sat in the car knitting, more on that later.

We got home about 9:00 after running through a drive thru for some dinner and Brian was the first one to the door. We found a folded up piece of paper in between the doorknob and the frame.

This piece of paper was a notice we’re in default on our rent and we have 7 days to pay up or get evicted.

Brian immediately came in and called the answering service who told us we’d have to speak to someone tomorrow morning about our problem. Yeah, because we were totally getting excellent sleep tonight after this. He was angry, I was beyond angry and ready to throw all our sh*t in a truck and get out of this place.

The funny thing is we’re TOTALLY current on our rent. We’ve only been late on one payment EVER and that was because I was getting ready to walk a check over to the office when I got the call that my dad had passed away and who cares about rent in a situation like that. We paid rent with a money order since they don’t take cash and take FOREVER to take checks out of our account AND the office WROTE US A RECEIPT.

A RECEIPT!!

FROM THE FRENCH MEANING A PIECE OF PAPER THAT MEANS I PAID MY F***ING BILL!!!!! YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO PUT A PIECE OF PAPER IN MY DOOR GHETTO APARTMENT COMPLEX TO TELL ME I’M IN DANGER OF BEING EVICTED BECAUSE YOU CAN’T TAKE CARE OF YOUR OWN SH*T!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So I put on my “beautiful firm nature” that the K tells me I have and slapped on my lawyer face this morning. I walked over to the office (after calling my boss to tell her I’d be late) and straightened out this matter. They told me it was a mistake (YES! IT WAS INDEED!) and not to worry about the paper and we will not be evicted.

All I can say is we had better not be. Hell hath no fury like lawyer Liz (seriously, ask the K or my husband.) Just wait until I’m licensed to practice. This place won’t know what hit them.

The lessons we can take from this:

If you move to Lexington don’t live in my apartment complex. Brian and I were tempted to break our lease earlier this year for other shady behavior but once we save up for a deposit on another place we are OUT OF HERE…

Pay rent. On time. Keep your receipts.

Wait a minute…that’s what we did.

Refer to lesson 1 children.

*peruses rental property listings.*

4 responses to “Last night…

  1. “YES! IT WAS INDEED!”

    Hahaha. Oh, the laughter that rang out in the quiet library. I can so imagine lawyer Liz on the war path and it makes me miss our mock trial/teen court antics. Or Felty wanting to murder us during that shaken baby trial.

    Srsly, tho. That is whack. If you;ve already considered moving before this, do so now.

  2. Haha. The shaken baby trial wasn’t even the most disrupting thing we ever did. I just had HORRIBLE gas from pizza hut and was trying not to fart during the proceedings.

    We’re totally moving out ASAP and moving closer to downtown. I noticed while I was showering this morning that my bathroom ceiling is about to fall in some parts…but I doubt they’ll ever come in and fix anything for us again since we are now enemies of the state for causing a ruckus like we did.

    My name is Liz F. and I manufacture ruckus-es.

  3. Love love love. yes, I would def move. I never got to do mock trial wioth you, but I can TOTALLY see Lawyer Liz going on a warpath. We NEED TO SEE EACH OTHER SOON. I’m in Lexington for DR appointments aaaaaaaaaaaall the time. Looove ya! Don’t go to maverick on their ghettoness.

  4. That sounds awesome! I work Wednesday – Friday 9 – 5 so any time other than that we can get together.

Leave a Reply

